Reviews

 Sally Q

Un petit coin de paradis

A wonderful house in a gorgeous location. There is so much to see and experience in the Dordogne and we enjoyed every minute of it. After visiting chateaus, beautiful gardens, canoeing and caves, it was lovely to come home to the tranquility and comforts of the house.

We loved the openness of the kitchen and dining area in the evening and were lucky enough to be able to eat al fresco each night. This almost never happens at home in Yorkshire 😬.

The house is well equipped, tastefully furnished and very cosy. The beds are so comfortable!

We brought our dogs with us and were able to relax and let them wander the fenced part of the garden without any worry.

The booking process was really easy and Karin was so so helpful in her recommendations to first time visitors to the region.

All in all it was a fabulous holiday and would wholeheartedly recommend the house to anyone.

Thanks

Review Submitted: Sep 26, 2017

Date of Stay: Sep 2017


Jane C.

Beautiful house, beautiful location

Wow, fantastic house beautifully renovated and furnished in a quiet rural location. We have holidayed in many villas and houses around the world and are very particular in the standard we expect in a home from home, Karin has created an enviroment that exceeded our expectations and gave us a wonderful base for a perfect holiday. Near neighbour Nathalie is the agent looking after the house, she is very friendly, helpful and keeps the property looking so fresh it feels like everything is new. We would also recommend paddle boarding down the Dordogne with Nathalie’s company, a great way to see the area and easy to get the hang of. Thank you Nathalie and Karin!

Review Submitted: Oct 23, 2016
Date of Stay: Aug 2016


Nicki S.

A rural idyll in the Dordogne!

Just returned from one weeks stay at Les Cerisiers and it could not have been more lovely. The house is located in a quiet hamlet with views stretching out over the valley. We were met by the local agent, Nathalie who showed us around and handed over the keys for our stay. She was on hand throughout our stay and spoke excellent English. There was a very informative welcome book detailing info on the house and surrounding area.

The main house is spread across 3 floors, decorated beautifully and very spacious. Whilst there were only 2 of us and our dog – a group of adults or a family would have plenty of space to spread out and not get under each other’s feet. The kitchen is very well equipped and had everything we needed both for indoor and BBQ catering. The kitchen opens onto the terrace which makes it very convenient to light the BBQ rather than cooking indoors – the weather was over 30c during our stay and the shaded terrace and cool kitchen was very welcome in the evening!

Down a gentle slope away from the house, we used the pool which provided a well needed cool down after a warm day seeing the sights. A shaded terrace area also keeps out the strong sunshine during the hottest parts of the day.

The upstairs bedrooms do get hot if it’s been a hot day; a fan in each bedroom is available and was very welcome! Keeping the windows open will bring in the bugs (you’re in the country after all!) so be sure to bring some repellent in the summer. We didn’t find this a big problem but hopefully a helpful bit of advice!

If you do want to watch TV, most UK Freeview channels available.

We took our dog on this trip and the cottage was perfect for this. The garden is fenced so your dog can’t escape, plus the 5 hectares of land was an added bonus to exercise your dog in the cooler parts of the day. Karin was kind enough to recommend her local vet who is a delightful lady and knew exactly what was needed for the pet passport which was very reassuring.

Superbly located for many attractions of The Dordogne. Castelnaud-le-Chappelle is less than 10 minutes away with its picture postcard chateau and village with a boulongerie selling the most amazing fresh bread and pastries, a small shop, cafes and other facilities. Also access to the Dordogne river where you can swim or hire canoes. Sarlat la Caneda is @20+ mins away and a magnet for tourists, but well worth a visit.

Highly recommended – Bon Vacances!

Review Submitted: Aug 2, 2016
Date of Stay: Jun 2016


Christina C.

Wonderful stay and owner, highly recommend

We have just returned after spending a week in Karin’s home and have the serious holiday blues. The beautiful period house and gite was spotless and fit our group of seven adults very comfortably. The house is set on a quiet picturesque country lane surrounded by farmland and stunning views across fields and woodlands. We enjoyed many beautiful walks in the immediate area as well as having the generous land the house sits within to enjoy. The house and the gite are well equipped and furnished elegantly. We felt so welcomed by Nathalie, Karin’s local neighbour, who showed us the house on arrival and was on hand during our stay if we had any enquiries. Karin was extremely helpful in the lead up to our holiday and provided us with great tips and ideas. We would absolutely love to stay again! Thank you Karin!!

Review Submitted: Jun 7, 2016
Date of Stay: May 2016


Celia B.

Fantastic luxury farmhouse in tranquil location

We had a wonderful week in this beautiful house. The house is amazing, and has been so beautifully restored – it was a privilege to stay in somewhere so lovely, and in such a tranquil spot with such gorgeous views. It was spotlessly clean and everything within looked brand new. It was really helpful to find essentials such as salt&pepper, loo roll washing up liquid and bin bags on our arrival.

The surrounding area is stunning, with 5 amazing chateaux within a 15 minute drive – amazing views everywhere we looked, but the pool and the view were so fantastic it was hard to drag ourselves away from the house!

Review Submitted: Aug 24, 2015
Date of Stay: Aug 2015